Bengali Film Antaheen wins Indian National Best Film Award thumbnail

Bengali Film Antaheen wins Indian National Best Film Award

January 24, 2010

Bollywood ruled the roost taking away 12 honours, including a best actress trophy for Priyanka Chopra, even as Bengali feature film “Antaheen” directed by Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury was adjudged the best movie when 56th Indian National Film Awards for 2008 were announced here on Saturday.

“Antaheen” – a story about relationships – starring Sharmila Tagore, Rahul Bose and Aparna Sen, was adjudged the best movie, which also brought the best female playback award for Shreya Ghoshal, best cinematography award for Avik Mukhopadhaya and best lyrics for Anindya Banerjee and Chandranil Bhattacharya.

This was Aniruddha’s second successive success in national awards as his debut feature film “Anuranan” starring Rahul Bose, Aparna Sen, Raima Sen, Rituparna Sengupta and Rajat Kapoor, had been adjudged the best Bengali film in 2007.

Rituparno Ghosh’s “Shob Charitro Kalponik”, starring Bipasha Basu and Prosenjit, was adjudged the best Bengali film in 2008.

Upendra Limaye won the best actor award for 2008 for his role in Marathi film “Jogva” which also pocketed four other honours — best film on social issues, music direction (Ajay and Atul), best male playback singer (Hariharan).

Tamil filmmaker Bala won the best director for his film “Naan Kadavul”.

However, the 56th chapter of the National Awards for 2008 clearly belonged to Bollywood.

Delhi-based director Dibakar Banerjee’s flick “Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!” was adjudged the best popular film.

Bollywood actress Priyanka Chopra bagged the best actress award for her role of an aspiring model in Madhur Bhandarkar’s “Fashion” while co-star Kangana Ranaut won the best supporting actress award for playing the role of a troubled model in the same movie.

Arjun Rampal won the award for best supporting actor for his role of a failed rocker in “Rock On” which also bagged the award for best Hindi feature film in language category.

Soni Tarporwala’s film “Little Zizou” about the Mumbai Parsi community was adjudged the best film on family values while the Nargis Dutt Award for best feature film on national integration went to Manju Bora’s Assamese movie “Aai Kot Nai”, which deals with problems of the northeast.

Ashutosh Gowarikar’s epic love story “Jodhaa Akbar” won the best costume design award (Neeta Lulla) and best choreography (Chinni and Rekha Prakash).

Neeraj Pandey won the Indira Gandhi Award for first film of a director for his thriller “A Wednesday” starring Naseeruddin Shah and Anupam Kher.

Nandita Das’ directorial debut “Firaaq”, a film on the aftermath of Gujarat riots in the year 2002, won the best editing award for A Sreekar and best art direction for Gautam Sen. The film stars Naseeruddin Shah and Sarika in lead roles.

Yashraj Film’s “Roadside Romeo” won the award for best animation film

Be Sociable, Share!



By CinemaGuru