Sharmila Tagore to become a jury in Cannes Film Festival thumbnail

Sharmila Tagore to become a jury in Cannes Film Festival

May 5, 2009

After Bollywood star Aishwarya Rai Bachchan and Nandita Das, veteran screen diva Sharmila Tagore is set to become a member of the jury for the prestigious Cannes Film Festival to be held from May 13 to 24 this year.Tagore will be part of the nine-member jury to be headed by French actress Isabelle Huppert. The jury also includes author Hanif Kureshi, Italian actress Asia Argento, Turksih director Nuri-Bilge Ceylan, American director James Gray, Hollywood actress Robin Wright Penn and South Korean filmmaker Lee Chang-Dong.

The first Indian to be a member of the jury at Cannes was internationally acclaimed director Mrinal Sen way back in 1982 and the first Indian actress to get the honour was Aishwarya Rai in 2003 while Das was its part two years ago.

Master director Satyajit Ray’s “Devi” featuring Soumitra Chatterjee, Sharmila Tagore and Chhabi Biswas among others, was screened at the competition section of Cannes Festival in 1962. Ray’s epoch-making movie “Pather Panchali” was also shown at the same venue in 1956.

Sharmila Tagore is currently the Chairperson of Indian Censor Board and acts in films from time to time.

Be Sociable, Share!



By CinemaGuru